I Will Priase

I had hoped to make a post last night, I had hoped for many things last night, but I was up till  2:00 in the morning trying to complete an assignment. For me, when I have trouble with homework assignments, that is I have grandiose I-have-no-idea-what-the-teacher-wants-from-me kind of problems, my immediate conclusion is that I am some sort of first rate imbecile incapable of feeding himself.

Often I berate myself with a torrent of insults that I try not to say aloud. However, this time was a bit different. This time I said to myself, “I will praise You through this.” I knew enough of myself; it wasn’t my idea to say that.

So I found myself all last night repeating, “I will praise You.” Sometimes I think people get a little mixed up. Some idea, usually unspoken and unconscious, an idea often only seen through actions, of bartering your services against God’s services exists. This is first rate folly. Anyone who knows God can see what we add to Him, nothing.

It is a destroyer of pride to realize that when you come before God there is no debt He owes. There is no hope of putting the ledger in your favor. We perhaps lie to ourselves somewhere that by attending church, and remembering our prayers we can deserve Grace.

We should rejoice that this is not a matter of earning, of putting God in the red, for there would be no hope were that the case. Even if we were to sell all that we have and give it to the poor, we would still come before God totally indebted to Him.

Here is something in me, and I think many, that must die daily. God doesn’t want to barter with us, how ludicrous mankind can be. We can add nothing to God. But He adds everything to us.

And so I resolve to praise Him when life is sweet or when life is sour.

Casting Crowns, Praise You In This Storm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5bLvVjJ4MA

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

