Carry On Wayward Blogger

One of my all-time favorite songs is Carry On Wayward Son, by Kansas. I love the lyrics, the sound, and the passion. If I could sing I would sing this song. Recently, a popular YouTuber, Peter Hollens, did a cover of the original with guitarist Stevie T.

It captures the heart of the song so well, and yet, with its mostly acapella background, creates something altogether novel. I have been listening to it like a morphine drip. This may be one of Peter’s best songs yet.

If you have never taken time to enjoy the actual lyrics they are worth a moment. I think my favorite section comes around the second or third stanza:

Though my eyes could see I still was a blind man
Though my mind could think I still was a mad man
I hear the voices when I’m dreamin’,
I can hear them say

And here the voices continue their call for him to carry on, consoling him, promising there will be peace. The best verse, though, may be the second to last:

Carry on, you will always remember
Carry on, nothing equals the splendor
Now your life’s no longer empty
Surely heaven waits for you

Really, you can only know so much about a song by reading the lyrics. If you haven’t, listen to the song. Find the original, definitely check out Peter’s rendition, but listen to the words, see if they speak to you.

Original Song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2X_2IdybTV0
Peter Hollens version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G81PMFKkeds
Peter’s Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgITW_70LNZFkNna7VsXbuQ
Steve Terreberry: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl16xaNY2arX3OzZBvTlsPQ
Leave a Reply

