Awful

Well, I tried something different today. A while back, I wrote Why Martial Arts on my blog, and it’s been one of my most read posts ever, having more than twice the views as the next most popular. This is largely due to the fact that I linked it to a reddit page, /R/BJJ.

Subsequently, it came to my mind that this online community might enjoy another post I had written regarding Jujitsu, My Strength. That seems to have been a mistake. Whereas I have garnered views, I think I have upset a few people.

The downvotes I received don’t trouble me nearly as much as a particular comment. The user wasn’t rude or anything, but off and on I kept thinking about what he had said.

Great that you get your strength from your God (no offence) but I feel like most of us here get it from our will to be good and discipline.

Go to the Reddit post here

On the surface it seems to betray either the knee jerk reaction of one who didn’t bother to read what I had written, or someone with whom I failed to communicate my point. Whereas the first option seems most likely, the second one impressed itself upon me.

And then this thought comes: It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.

Here I rejoice in my weakness, for in it I know His strength. I have no doubt that many can go through life “without God,” that is, without recognizing His abundance toward us. The statement bothers me because it is like a man standing on a tall rock boasting of his height.

But let’s take this I-can-go-under-my-own-strength viewpoint. Let’s make an analogy. Two men climb a mountain. One is full of awe. The other sums up his progression to his own internal virtue. Which of the two will be satisfied at reaching the top of the mountain? When the work of self-discipline is complete, who will continue onward?

I hear the argument that the second man would get satisfaction out of climbing a mountain. If that’s true, what would we call his experience? It would generally be called awe, what the first man experienced. Awe is not saying, “by my will,” or “due to my discipline.” Awe is what my post was about. I had reached a small peak, and it humbled me. I called out to God, and he answered me.

1 Comment

  1. That’s an interesting question: do we get our strength from God or does it come from our own will? Remember the movie Chariots of Fire? Olympic champion Eric Liddell said, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.” That reminds me of your illustration of the climber who experienced awe. One of my favorite verses is 2 Corinthians 12:9, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” I’ve found this verse to be true when my will power fails. Certainly, human will power is valid, but like anything good, God is the source.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

