Where Am I?

So, I made an apology in my last post for not editing anything, citing life as being strange. The short version of what happened is that I got on the wrong train home. That was, admittedly, my fault. Though afterwards, a series of odd events conspired against me.

I will not herein lay out the minute details, but train doors wouldn’t open, signs read trains wouldn’t be coming for the next three or so hours—however, leaving the loading platform, I watched them come in droves—and my phone decided to develop sentience. It was muting my calls on a whim, redialing as it pleased, and making beeping noises while I was talking with people. I was a little stressed coming home with the next morning only some five or ten minutes away.

My thoughts, heading back up the train line I had mistakenly traversed, regarded a quote from C. S. Lewis.

We all want progress, but if you’re on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road; in that case, the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive.

It is not natural, for many, to admit a mistake, and even when that same mistake should be humiliating, like wearing a be-clowning sign declaring what one most desires remain hidden, pride stubbornly will cling, refusing to change. So, as I repented, as I turned back the way I had come, I thought about what needed to change. Along which metaphorical roads was there need to make an abrupt U-turn?

The signs in life are not as clear as those found on a train, but then again, I knew the path home. So, what road am I heading down in life, and is it the way home?

This post shares some parallels with an earlier one: Don’t Be a Clown

Leave a Reply

